Chronology and Important Dates for the Cathedral

1601 – Bishop William Morgan translator of the Bible into Welsh (1588)

1643-60 – Commonwealth desecration.


The effigy of Anian II – Bishop of St Asaph 1268-93



AD 560 – St Kentigern arrives in exile.
573 – St Asaph succeeds Kentigern,

596 – Death of St Asaph

1143 – New Territorial diocese established. Gilbert first Bishop.

1188 – The visit of Gerald of Wales and Archbishop Baldwin.

1239 – Bishop Hugh building.

1282 – Edward I’s troops accidentally burn the Cathedral.

1284 – Anian II returns and begins restoration.

c.1310 – Bishop Llywelyn and Master Henry Ellerton rebuild.

1391 – Tower of Cathedral built by Robert Fagan, Chester.

1402 – Cathedral burnt by Owain Glyndwr.

1411 – Rebuilding Bishop Robert de Lancaster.

c.1480 – Bishop Redman engaged William Frankelyn to make canopied stalls.

1780-1830 – Major work to Cathedral interior.

1867-75 – Sir George Gilbert Scott’s major restoration.

1892 – Erection of Translator’s memorial.

1920 – Church in Wales disestablished and disendowed.

1932 – C.M. Oldrid Scott underpinning of the Tower.

1957-66 – Cathedral restoration and rebuilding of the organ.

1984 – Queen Elizabeth II visits the Cathedral.

1997 – Rebuilding of the organ and a new case.

For more Information visit

©Text by The Venerable T.W. Pritchard, Archdeacon of Montgomery
Photography by RJL Smith, Much Wenlock Shropshire
©St Asaph Cathedral – ©Eglwys Gadeiriol Llanelwy
Reproduced with the permission of The Archbishop of Wales